Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

going to look at a lifted 96 Disco. Newbie ?s

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2008, 03:55 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default going to look at a lifted 96 Disco. Newbie ?s

I've been wheeling for a few years on a lifted armored

So I'm going to take a look at an OME2" lifted '96 4.0 Disco. Runs on 31"s, has a safari rack, diff guards,and other extras, Has a brocken Fox shock at one corner, 80k mi,and an ABS issue. He's asking $6K. Anything I should be looking for?

Who supplies decent lifts and how big can I reasonbly go before regearing? What's it take in liftto move up to 33" or 35"? Best way to increase flex and who makes the best shocks for the ride?
what to do about pinion angle on lifts? Does it matter much?
What are the pros and cons of a '96 compared to other years?

Any other notes? Thanks in advance NMc

Old 04-23-2008, 05:26 PM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts
Default RE: going to look at a lifted 96 Disco. Newbie ?s

Too much for a 96, should be more around $4000 less the ABS repair, be careful.
When you find one that works then lets talk about part and supplier.

Old 04-23-2008, 11:44 PM
3rd Gear

Thanks for the advice.The sellersays he's had most of the usual issues gone through pretty well, we'll see. I'll bring it into she shop and see what it's worth.I think the biggest deterant is that everybody out here has one, stock and never off the pavement though.I just finnished a bunch of work on a 94 Disco this morning.

A little about me: I'm 23 and have two years of tech school under my belt. I have 7 ASEs, SP2 & TIA training. Mostly my experience is with Toyotaas they provided the tools and traing info. I'm working as a apprentice mechanic in Aspen and have access to parts and the shop.