Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Homemade Sway Bar Quick Disconnects

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2015, 08:03 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 943 Likes on 634 Posts
Default Homemade Sway Bar Quick Disconnects

So, as a few of you know I have been running without my rear sway bar for a few months now. This is a change I would recommend to anyone. After removing the rear sway, I noticed essentially no difference as far as road mannerisms with one exception: on the interstate. As counter-intuitive as it may seem, I noticed an improvement in handling over 75 mph. Before removing the rear sway would walk back and forth over the road and after removing it it doesn't walk around at all. Armed with this knowledge, last night I decided to try disconnecting the front sway bar. To be honest, it drover down the road at 55mph perfectly fine. Well, until I tried to make an emergency lane change. Then it was absolutely terrifying. After learning this, I decided to make my own quick disconnects. Armed with an angle grinder, a drill, and a couple of pins, that's exactly what I did. Time involved was a trip to Lowes and about 30 minutes, not including the 15 minutes it took me to disconnect the sway bar for the first time using vice grips, a breaker bar, and an 18mm socket.