Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

newbie Looking at a discovery

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2006, 06:29 PM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie Looking at a discovery

Im new to the forum and had many other cars in the past from audi, cadillac, jeep, and triumph. Im looking into the land rovers and I found one on ebay last night I ended up[ being the high bidder but the reserve price wasn't met. I was offered a second chance on the discovery for the bid I placed (1600). I have attached the link to the page, the land rover seems to need quite a bit of work but wanted to get the opinion for other disco owners and see if this is a realistic price for the truck. Thanks, Brad.

clicky:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...RK%3AMEWA%3AIT

Old 06-18-2006, 11:19 PM
Overlanding
Default RE: newbie Looking at a discovery

Will this be a primary driver or do you have another car to get you to work?

I am new to the Rover world as well; I purchased a '99 Disco II about a month ago. It had minor issues, but for the under $9k I spent, I am pretty happy. I am also a VERY avid VW/Audi fan. If you think this will be ANYWHERE NEAR what your Audi's are, you are WRONG.

My opinion is this:

German cars are very precise; handling, control, fit, finish, is TOP NOTCH, overall build quality is VERY GOOD (Japanese cars get an "Excellent" out of me).

Rovers are un-beatable off road, but the fit and finish is mediocre. I have to re-attach my side marker on my truck constantly. The controls and buttons and ***** inside are NOT up to German car levels. That said, I will off road with ANYONE and I am stock (but not for long).

short story: if you want to off road, get a Rover, but dont expect it to be Audi build quality. If you want a problem free, daily driver, consider anything else.

edit:
I dont see how you can go wrong for $1600; you can part it out and make money!

Old 06-19-2006, 12:26 AM
Drifting