Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No-start issue with my '01 Disco II

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2013, 11:38 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default No-start issue with my '01 Disco II

Hey all, Disco II newbie here. Just registered for the forum. Love the site!

Anyway, I just purchased my first Land Rover, a 2001 Disco II with a little over 89k miles on the odo. Drove the truck home fine. I did get the "M" and "S" lights, as well as the 3 Amigos, but both those issues are intermittent, as they only appeared once and didn't come back with subsequent drives. I did temporarily get stranded the day after purchasing it, my guess being due to a immobilizer issue as the vehicle wouldn't crank. Getting out and locking/unlocking the door with the key itself got her started up again.

Those were the previous issues I had, but now I can't get the engine to start. Thought it might be the battery, so I gave it a good charge but still nada. I used my diagnostic tool to try and pull any codes but there were none. Some digging around led me to believe it was the Crank Position Sensor, so I picked one up at Advance Auto, swapped out the old one, but still won't start. I'm about to check for spark in the morning, since I am too frustrated at the moment to be of much use lol.

Any input on the no-start issue? If I'm not getting spark, what could that mean? If I am getting spark, could it be a fuel issue?

Thanks I'd appreciate any input.

Old 02-14-2013, 12:42 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Welcome.

If you can't start, check for spark with a spare plug on manifold, etc. If no spark, consider that the CKP sensor may have been mounted incorrectly. Spacing, nuts, etc. are all very critical. Sensor, spacers, nuts.