Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacing Lock Actuator Mechanism in Drivers's USA left hand front door

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2012, 12:39 PM
TReK
Received 44 Likes on 37 Posts
Default Replacing Lock Actuator Mechanism in Drivers's USA left hand front door

Hello All,
Appreciate all of the helpful advice on here.

Wondering if anyone who has replaced the door lock actuator on the
left front door has any helpful advice?

This is my first attempt at replacing this mechanism.

I have a new one in hand and need to get to taking the door apart.

I would like to avoid breaking the plastic retaining clips which hold the door panel on.

And, there are probably a few tricks you all have learned on how to do it.
Or at least survive it with minimal frustration and breakage of other related parts..

Many thanks in advance,
J

Old 04-09-2012, 03:27 PM
Winching
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

hey jfall,
I just did this about a month ago on my disco II. However I replaced the rear passenger side door actuator. I know the driver's door is a little different, but I imagine the mechanisms are the same, just a bit of a different look. You can read my write up on how I did it here:

https://landroverforums.com/forum/di...s-47296/page2/

If you have any questions about what I did, feel free to ask.

Old 04-10-2012, 12:18 PM
TReK

Wow, that was a great writeup.
I went down and tackled it.
Took a few hours.

On the USA Discovery - Drivers' door....

Removing the door panel is not hard.

This how it went for me...:::

Trick is to get a door panel removing tool. This tool is a little pry bar
with a V face. There is a V cut that hooks the little plastic door panel studs.
Pulls them right out.

Lisle has it

Lisle Corporation

1) Then remove the plastic cover over the door latch.
2) Remove the 3 torx screws for the door latch.