Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Scared Disco buyer!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2006, 05:05 PM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scared Disco buyer!!!!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi Every-body,Newbie here! GREAT FORUM!

Basically I have been wanting to buy a Diesel Discovery for the last 10 years but dare'nt!,Love the vehicle and have always been a Land Rover fan,have 3 kids,have a 1 ton trailer to pull,live in rural France so why not, then there's the other half of me saying (after having owned VW's & Audis for the last 20 years,better the DEVIL you know than the DEVIL you dont!!!!!) get a life, big noisy,unreliable,expensive,tyres,servicing cost's,fuel consumption etc............

We have a vehicle change coming up as our current A6 is getting too small for us, not bothered about massive drop in performance as now here in France Automatic speed cameras are popping up every where and think that if you are going to abide by the speed limits you might as well do it in style with a better view/ride

My major concerns/questions are:

Engine/gearbox life: How many miles is a Td5 engine good for?, what problem signs to look out for?
Is the Tdi 300 the same engine as a Td5 if so what engine is it? A perkins 5 cylinder in line?????

Cost of tyres?How many miles do they do? Reliability?Maintenance cost's (I do all my own servicing/repairs myself to a limit wouldn't want to rip an engine in bits for example)

Sorry to sound a fanny but I really would appreciate and help,Model advice,what to avoid or encouragement. As much as I would like a Discovery but I haven't the time,bank account or enthusiasm to spend all week ends repairing it!

Many thanks in advance

Jason

Old 09-29-2006, 04:08 AM
4th Gear
Default RE: Scared Disco buyer!!!!!

Any Disco tdi info would be really appreciated-Please-Pretty Please,Pretty Please with a cherry on the top!