Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

snow tire help

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2008, 03:58 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default snow tire help

I purchased michelin synchrones for my disco. I heard they were much better than the factory goodyears. Are these tires ok for snow. Has anyone had good luck with them. I was told they are all season tires but i am not sure. What is a great snow tire for my discothanks caleb

Old 12-20-2008, 04:23 PM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts
Default RE: snow tire help

Where do you live, how much snow are you talking about, 16 or 18" tires?

Old 12-20-2008, 04:35 PM
Three Wheeling

18inch and we get quite a bit in central washington. mike did you get my reply about the cdlcaleb

Old 12-20-2008, 05:27 PM
TReK
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts

I have no experience with michelins but I tend to stay away from anything called an all season tire. That just means the tire is meant to do everything but does nothing well. I speaking in general terms, not specifically about your Michelins. How much research did you do prior to purchasing the tires? Before I bought my Goodyear Wranglers I went to the websites for all the major tire makers I could think of and did my best of comparing the tires that I felt fit what I needed. I spent most of my free time for nearly 2 weeks comparing tires. In the end, the Goodyears won over the rest even though they were more expensive than most of the others I considered.

Let us know how your Michelins perform in snow. From watching the weather channel it looks like you'll have a good opportunity over the next few days.

Old 12-20-2008, 07:13 PM
Three Wheeling

I'd have to agree on the "all-season" comment from DMike. Going to a true Ice rated tire, even non-studded, was a night/day switch for me re: winter driving.