Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ultilizing extra buttons for light bar please

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2014, 08:22 PM
TReK
Received 86 Likes on 59 Posts
Default Ultilizing extra buttons for light bar please

As mentioned in another thread I want to install a new 40" lightbar I bought on the roof and I want to be able to turn it on and off using one of the original spare buttons located in the odometer console bezel. Right now the button is blank and does not push in, is there any way to set it up like a function button and what would I have to order to do the wiring? Please help. Im a noob when it comes to electronics.

Old 11-16-2014, 09:13 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 83 Likes on 70 Posts

You can do it, but there's a "but".
The fog light switches aren't on/off in the same way that the cruise control switch is.
So, what most folks do is buy a replacement cruise control switch, then change over the plastic face on the switch with the auxilliary 2 switch.

So it does end up a little pricey for what is just a ratcheting switch, but it does let you do what you want.

A second option would be to replace your ashtray with the 3 carrier switch from a discovery 1. You can get the carrier from expedition exchange. Only problem is that the carrier is gray and our 04's have a black dash.

Finally, for less than the cost of the cruise control and aux OEM switches, I bought a MudPod and am going to install some carling switches in that for running the winch, oil pressure gauge and water temp. Once I'm done with that install, I hope that it'll also look stock.

Old 11-16-2014, 09:50 PM
TReK

Originally Posted by Robert Booth
You can do it, but there's a "but".
The fog light switches aren't on/off in the same way that the cruise control switch is.
So, what most folks do is buy a replacement cruise control switch, then change over the plastic face on the switch with the auxilliary 2 switch.