Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Who rips off more in a dealership?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2010, 03:44 PM
TReK
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Who rips off more in a dealership?

Is it the Service dept or parts dept? As a technician I can tell you its a parts dept. The labour rate sounds high but trust me its based on local property rates and the cost of buying all the required tools and equipment from the manufacturer. We go by the book for labour time. We don't upsell by double the amount and the like.

a dealer in San Diego might be 160 while one in Tennessee might be 101. Of course the independent in San Diego might be 110 but thats property values.

Old 08-01-2010, 04:17 PM
Winching
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Guess it depends on the part. A TPS at the dealer was $108. NAPA was $134. I've never had service done at a dealer so don't know about that.

Eric

Old 08-01-2010, 04:29 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

I just found out that my dealer no longer sells parts over the counter.
If they are not doing the work they wont sell you the part.
I guess they dont want any business do they?
And the labor rate at my dealer is $145 per hour with a minimum 1 hour charge.
Screw that.

Old 08-01-2010, 05:27 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Cant you see the big picture...

Originally Posted by Spike555
I just found out that my dealer no longer sells parts over the counter.
If they are not doing the work they wont sell you the part.
I guess they dont want any business do they?
And the labor rate at my dealer is $145 per hour with a minimum 1 hour charge.
Screw that.