General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2004 Range Rover Problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2013, 10:58 AM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 Range Rover Problems

Hello Folks,

I have a Range Rover HSE that has a few problems. One is the Idle goes high or it goes low, could it be MAF sensor. And the mileage has dropped as well per gallon of gas (always use high octane). The second is the Air Suspension is saying Inactive. The shocks do fill up with air but its been very cold as well. Just need a few pointers for these problems folks.

Goldsniffer

Old 01-13-2013, 11:18 AM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

I will admit that I'm new to these trucks and am currently learning.
From what I have learned so far the throttle is a "fly-by-wire" system so the idle is completely computer controlled.
Being as such the correct battery voltage is paramount, if it is the original battery I would replace that first and buy the largest amp battery that will physically fit in the battery holder.
As for the MPG, when was the last time it had a tune up?
Is the air filter clean?
O2 sensors will have a huge effect on MPG (thats with any fuel injected car).

Old 01-13-2013, 11:26 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Here's some text from the shop manual about the error message:

Fault Messages
The air suspension has two methods which it can use to inform the driver of a fault in the air suspension system; the air suspension control switch LED's and the instrument pack message centre. When minor faults occur and the air suspension ECU is able to level the vehicle to the 'current' ride height, the control switch LED's will display the current ride height. When the vehicle returns to the standard ride height and further height changes are disabled, the 'HOLD' LED in the control switch will be permanently illuminated.