General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I need a working machine!

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2008, 02:08 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need a working machine!

So i used to haunt this froum along time ago, but now I am back with some questions. I am a biologist who spends alot of time in the desert and mountains on really bad roads - along way from help! i am looking for a new field vehicle. essentially i would drive 3 - 500 miles to a site - then spend a week bouncing along all sorts of rocks and rutted roads - then drive home. I am thinking an early 90's rover might be just the ticket. I am after:
1. dependability - I can't have it quit on me in the middle of nowhere
2. ability - I already know they are very capable of road
3. storaqge room ands comfort
My wife had a 93 LWB that she really liked - and it ran well for her

I think by far the biggest concern will be reliability - we already know the vehicle fits all of our other qualifications!

But you guys tell me - if you had 10 grand to spend - would it be on a Rover - given my application? and what years / models would you stay away from - what are the gotchas I need to be looking out for? I guess I'm thinking that the engine and drive train are probably pretty reliable - but what about electronics etc??

any insites/recomendations/ information would be appreciated?

Oh yah - and how about a disco? is it reliable?

Carl Johansson

Old 04-21-2008, 10:33 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: I need a working machine!