General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

RRC Speed buffer relay location?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2016, 04:17 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RRC Speed buffer relay location?

Hi everyone,

Can anyone definitively let me know where the speed buffer relay is located on a NAS 1995 RRC? The part number is PRC 8882. I've seen some posts finding it in the pass side footwell kick panel but that was an Aus site, so not sure if it's different for LHD. Some posts say it's a big white relay and that what it looks like on ebay, can't find a white one to remove anywhere in mine. All I got from RAVE was the attached pic which hopefully someone can explain. Is it a green and yellow wire going to fuse X190(the speed buffer relay)? But where does this wire start?? As you'll see from the tabs open in my screenshot, I'm not an electrical expert. Hopefully take old one out - put new one in. I do have a volt meter but without explicit directions it might as well be written in Greek.

The reason I'm looking for it is the speedo, along with the odometer have stopped working. They went wacky up and down for about a week then stopped working all together. Started hearing some short circuiting crackles from under the glovebox on and off after about 15 min of driving. Then the truck started stalling when coming to a stop, which I have read is the computer not knowing how fast it's moving and messing up the fuel delivery. I've replaced the VSS with no improvement.

As I said I'm no electrical engineer and am hoping this little relay will solve a headache tracking down a wiring issue.

Any other ideas??

Cheers!

Attached Thumbnails RRC Speed buffer relay location?-screenshot-2016-07-02-20.33.22.png   RRC Speed buffer relay location?-photo-7-.jpg  
Old 07-21-2016, 07:03 PM
Overlanding