General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Final drive drain plug

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2011, 07:29 AM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Final drive drain plug

I am new to the Land Rover world. We have just acquired a 1998 Discovery and wanted to change the oil in the front final drives. The shop service manual shows a drain plug and a level plug. I can find neither on these units. How do you drain the oil and refill to the proper level?

Old 11-09-2011, 08:38 AM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts

Have you actually crawled under and looked at your diffs? If so, and you missed the 2 plugs, I am not sure what to say.
The bottom one is the drain plug, the one, part way up the pumpkin is the fill plug.
Pull the drain plug, remove the magnetic mud from the plugs magnet, reinstall and fill thru the fill plug till the fluid comes out, 1.8 quarts.
Consider using a 85/140 gear oil for both the diffs and the t/case for a total of 7 quarts.

Old 11-09-2011, 08:41 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Please take the time to download the RAVE tech manual set in my signature, has factory shop and owners manuals. Here is a single page that covers the diff drain, you want to use a 1/2 inch drive wrench to open the top fill hole first. If you can't open that, don't drain it. The auto parts store sell a handy pump for like $7 that fits a jug of fluid and makes it easy. Youl also want to do the transfer case, it has the same fill, but a smaller magnetic drain plug. If working under truck be sure wheels are chocked. Some use a pair of ramps, both on passenger side, to give more room on ones side.

Also check out our tech sticky area, has lots of write ups and pix of common repairs, and the high miles service list.

Attached Files
File Type: pdf
d1 diff drain.PDF (653.0 KB, 198 views)
Old 11-09-2011, 08:44 AM
Super Moderator