General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Looking into a '96 Disco. Has some electrical issues I'd like to possibly clarify!

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2011, 12:41 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking into a '96 Disco. Has some electrical issues I'd like to possibly clarify!

Well I'm rather new to the world of Land Rovers, but not new to them completely as my uncle used to have two of the I-series and one II-series. I would like to get one for some adventuring and off-roading for sure as it looks so darn good looking with the capabilities that most others don't. Been looking at some local ads, and there are some nice ones, but there is this one specific one I'm sort of considering.

It's a '96 SE, 158,000 KM, automatic with the V8.

Anyways, the fellows ad says, and I quote;

"Car is running but has a few problem. Handle on drivers side is broken and door needs to be open from the inside from the passengers door. Front passenger door lock needs to be held to be opened. Back doors open fine. Rearview mirrors and the power on the power windows are broken."

So in a summary,

-Driver side door handle needs to be replaced with possibly the inner connections to open the door latch
-Front passenger door lock needs to be held up to be open the door - not entirely too sure. Possibly some more connectivity?
-Rearview mirrors (side mirrors) and power windows are not working - electrical. I expect that the rear ones don't either. It does have a sunroof obviously, but does not say whether or not it is working as well.

I think this would be a good start, as it's an excuse to "know my car better," especially that all I do own are BMWs! I did read on some threads, that it could be problems with the switch board in regards to the windows not functioning. If that's the case, this would be a fantastic deal. All the help and advice would be greatly appreciated!