LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake and More

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2011, 04:29 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake and More

Hi All -

I'm very new to the LR3 forum. My wife has a 2005 LR3 and I'm going to be doing some work on it. I'm very comfortable around cars ( I work on my BMW E46 quite a bit), but I do have some questions when it comes to the LR3. Appreciate all of your comments and help. Feel free to refer me to any other threads if necessary.

Topic: I'll be replacing all of my rotors and pads. Potentially my e-brake shoes and even the e-brake actuator.

Question 1: Best jacking points - ok I'm sure this is an easy one, but I just couldn't find any recommendations on the best, most secure point for jacking when lifting one tire at a time. I prefer to get a jack stand underneath to free up the jack to securely hold up my calipers during the brake job.

Q2: Product recommendation??? What is best? I don't want to spend too much but any thoughts on slotted/cross drilled? EDC seems to be quite popular. Also, I want to ensure I get everything I need. The obvious: 4 rotors, 4 sets of pads. I believe I should be replaceing the "screw" that is quite a pain to get off - can't recall the name but its the screw on the outside of the rotor that might require an impact drill to remove. Any other special considerations such as clips, sprays, anything? I like to make sure I have EVERYTHING before starting a DIY, which leads to my next question.

Q3: Anyone know a good (with pictures) DIY for replacing rotors and pads. I've heard its quite easy to do and you can even avoid bleeding by using a c-clamp (with old pads) to push the cylinders back in.

Other potential DIY - E-brake shoes and Actuator