LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

RUST in the NE????

Old 05-05-2012, 10:49 AM
Mudding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RUST in the NE????

Hi all; newbie here on the forum and new to Land Rovers, having just bought an LR3 on eBay.

No, haven't seen it yet and hope to get somebody to ship it down to Alabama from Mass. before too long.

In the meantime, somebody suggested that all the salt up in the NE might have caused a good bit of rust on the undercarriage. The LR3 is a 2006 with over 100K miles on it.

What say you guys that live up there...am I about to find a rust-bucket, or do vehicles last a lot longer than that?

yeah, I know I should have asked before now, but we don't deal with rust down here and it was an impulse buy because they look great and we've wanted one for a long time.

Hope to be able to contribute in awhile, but for now I'll be mining knowledge from the experts!

Old 05-05-2012, 10:53 AM
TReK
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

anything north of the mason dixon line will have rust. and lots of it. 100k and you are looking at a geniune piece of **** on ebay. better back out now before you find out how much everything will set you back.

Old 05-05-2012, 10:58 AM
Mudding

It's mine now, so we'll see how things work out. Photos are just that, and they show excellent inside and out; along with the AutoCheck. However, the underside is going to be seen for the first time when it gets down here.

If I got a POS, then it goes on the market and I keep the diesel Excursion...but with new tires/brakes and suspension work, it might drive out fine if the rust isn't so bad that it's structural instead of cosmetic.

What are the weak points to look at for rust on them??

Old 05-05-2012, 11:02 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts