New Discovery V Talk about the new Land Rover Discovery 5

CarPlay in the USA

  #81  
Old 10-26-2018, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Groton, MA
Posts: 107
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Question for people who have Carplay already.
It looks like the Carplay screen totally takes over the infotainment screen. Which is fine for making phone calls, listening to texts, using waze, playing the music on your phone etc.
But what happens if you want to use waze but listed to the cars Satellite radio? Or mess with seats or climate? Do you have to turn off carplay? With the giant screen we have too bad it couldn't leave a portion for vehicle operations.
Also will waze use you cars GPS or does it use the phones?
 
  #82  
Old 10-26-2018, 05:37 PM
pendergastjm's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 29
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BchBum11511 View Post


So, the new SW is installed. Iím cautiously optimistic that my InControl Remote is more reliable. Had a pretty good afternoon.

BUT, they said they installed the SmartPhone package during the update. No CarPlay, though. Is there soemthing else that is supposed to be installed? Or is it not available for 2017 model? The CarPlay screen on my iPhone just searches while I hold the button on the steering wheel.
Make sure your phone is connected to the usb slots via cable.
 
  #83  
Old 10-26-2018, 05:41 PM
pendergastjm's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 29
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ned O'Neill View Post
Question for people who have Carplay already.
It looks like the Carplay screen totally takes over the infotainment screen. Which is fine for making phone calls, listening to texts, using waze, playing the music on your phone etc.
But what happens if you want to use waze but listed to the cars Satellite radio? Or mess with seats or climate? Do you have to turn off carplay? With the giant screen we have too bad it couldn't leave a portion for vehicle operations.
Also will waze use you cars GPS or does it use the phones?
When mine was installed the CarPlay screen had a LandRover app icon that takes you back to the native LandRover functions. There is also a CarPlay icon on the native screen that flip[s you back to CarPlay.
 
  #84  
Old 10-26-2018, 06:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 82
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pendergastjm View Post
Make sure your phone is connected to the usb slots via cable.
Doesnít that just start the InControl Apps? The iPhone says wireless CarPlay.

i tried it but it didnít show up on the phone for setup.
 
  #85  
Old 10-26-2018, 08:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 82
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

So an article I just read from cnet from three days ago says that you have to have the SmartPhone pack, updated ICTP SW, and (the one I hadnít heard about) a specific set of USB ports. Only two of the three center console styles from Land Rover have the right ports. They didnít say what the styles were.

I read another article that stated right now only wired CarPlay is supported.

Can someone who has CarPlay working take a pic of their USB ports theyíre using?
 
  #86  
Old 10-27-2018, 09:12 AM
pendergastjm's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 29
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BchBum11511 View Post
So an article I just read from cnet from three days ago says that you have to have the SmartPhone pack, updated ICTP SW, and (the one I hadnít heard about) a specific set of USB ports. Only two of the three center console styles from Land Rover have the right ports. They didnít say what the styles were.

I read another article that stated right now only wired CarPlay is supported.

Can someone who has CarPlay working take a pic of their USB ports theyíre using?
Here is mine. CarPlay has been working great for me.

 
  #87  
Old 10-27-2018, 09:31 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 82
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pendergastjm View Post
Here is mine. CarPlay has been working great for me.
Thanks! That makes my life harder because thatís the same one Iím using :/

Anyone have ave any other ideas?
 
  #88  
Old 10-27-2018, 09:52 AM
pendergastjm's Avatar
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 29
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BchBum11511 View Post


Thanks! That makes my life harder because thatís the same one Iím using :/

Anyone have ave any other ideas?
I am guessing they did not download your update correctly. When I plug my cord into my phone CarPlay kicks right off.
 
  #89  
Old 10-27-2018, 10:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 82
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by pendergastjm View Post
I am guessing they did not download your update correctly. When I plug my cord into my phone CarPlay kicks right off.
Thatís what Iím thinking even though they told they did. When your phone is connected and you go to All Settings ó> Connectivity ó> Apple Device Settings, do you get options other than None and InControl Apps?
 
  #90  
Old 10-28-2018, 12:26 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Without sounding like a tech firm from India try a different cable. When I order on Amazon and want free shipping I add cables and wall chargers to get there because I always lose them in hotels. Some are not actually designed for data transfer but just charging. I had a couple that would not work so I threw them out.

Hopefully its itís something that simple for you
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: CarPlay in the USA


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.