New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

I'm a newbie.

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2012, 12:02 AM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm a newbie.

...and I'm a chick.
Bad combo I suppose!
I have been reading through as many threads as I can access, the info is great, thanks to all of you!
I have wanted a Discovery since I first saw one in 1992. I almost bought a 2001 D2 in 2002, but blah blah blah divorce etc, it never happened.
I am finally ready to pick one up. Can NOT wait, I have butterflies! But they're also there because of the issues I am aware of and the new ones I am learning about.
My single mom budget is kind of limited, so I don't know that I can get an '04 in my $$ range, but I found a fair '01 SE, and really LOVE this immaculate '03 SE7.
Help? Advice? other than the great posts about what to check before starting, after running for a bit, etc, what am I gonna ask them?
I am 4 minutes away from completing the rave.zip download.
Thanks!

Old 02-11-2012, 07:08 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Because this is a new type of vehicle for you, with lots of extra parts that the bmwah did not have, you may want to consider having an indy mechanic check out the vehicle. An hour of his time can save you a great deal. While we can list things that may fail, and ways to fix them, nothing can beat a hands-on inspection. You can also use www.statewidelist.com to search all of craigslist in your state for Rover and it will output list sorted by metro area. Gives you some market prices.

BTW - the Rover has no idea which gender is holding the steering wheel or the wrench. It will humble either.

Old 02-11-2012, 08:51 AM
Overlanding

Thanks for that, Savannah Buzz...
I did check out the pricing, options, and mileage of D2 vehicles in and around my area.
I will post when I make my final decision on what I am going to get...