New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

New D2 In a New City

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2012, 12:58 AM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New D2 In a New City

I'm new to the LR family however have been researching them for a while. I just moved to Denver from Los Angeles and picked up a 2004 SE7 Discovery with 72,500 mile. Very pumped for what is to come. Excited to learn and start checking off some of the used car recommended maintenance. Hopefully won't have to post on here to much, but at least I know where to go for honest answers and good banter.

Old 09-07-2012, 04:52 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Welcome. Look at our tech area and see the high miles service list. Download the free copy of the RAVE, the factory shop and owners manual. In particular, inspect the front driveshaft which should have more than one grease fitting if rebuilt. The stock shaft can split with almost no warning and knock big hole in transmission. See prop shaft rebuild article in tech section. Consider as an upgrade wih an Ultra Gauge, which will read and reset engine codes, plus display live data, like coolant temp. Don't trust dash heat gauge, it will stay on 50% until you are smoking'. Don't run 30 weight oil, factory says that is only good below 95F. 15W40 Shell Rotella is a good oil to run, or the Rotella 5W40 synthetic. 5000 mile drain intervals, don't scrimp on this.

Old 09-07-2012, 09:26 PM
Overlanding

Thanks for the tips. The front shaft has not been rebuilt. I greased the other joints and the shafts just to be safe until I can get to it, the rebuild is my first real project. Today I changed the t/ case oil, only a few small metal shavings, no leaks. Need to do a flush of the coolant system as there is the orange crap in there, will do the new cap and t/stat then too.