New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

New Disco II guy

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2015, 07:41 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Disco II guy

Hi all,
Just recently picked up an 04 Disco II.

I wish I could say I'm in love with it, but I may not have been careful enough.

Here's my story:

I had decided on a Disco because I needed a vehicle big enough to fit a rear facing car seat (more difficult than it seems, pretty much only full sized SUV's). I'm a complete noob to LR's, did a good amount of reading up about them, and settled on an 04 Disco. Plus, I wanted it to take it up to the mountains for winter skiing.

I test drove about 3 of them and I immediately felt the difference with this one. Exterior was extremely nice, most pics you can't see all the little scratches that you see in person. This one was white and besides a scuff on one door, it was otherwise in extremely good shape. It was at a dealer and he said he got it from a repo auction. I test drove it, checked a few things that I could. Dealer hand changed all fluids, so everything was fresh, a little bit of smoke coming from the oil filler cap when I removed it. It was all as expected for a 10yo truck with 140k miles on an 04 for $5,500. Compared to the other's I drove, it was excellent, nice responsiveness, brakes were good, nearly new tires. I took it up to 75MPH on the freeway and no major rattles or overheating. No smoke. The only thing was that it didn't have an original key due to being a repo. Admittedly, my biggest mistake was not crawling underneath the car and looking for oil leaks at that very moment. I did check on the floor and he said it had been parked there for a while without any leaks.

I even slept on it for a month, kept looking around and while there's discos at every price level, this one was the nicest one I had seen for the money.