New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

Potential 1st time LR owner.

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2014, 06:23 AM
Drifting
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Potential 1st time LR owner.

Hello all!
My name is Tim and I live in central Oklahoma.
Looking for advice from the Land Rover community.
About to buy my first Land Rover, a 1999 Discovery 2. It is in "fair" condition cosmetically, but everything works and it drives like new. It has 121,000 miles on it. I can get it for $2,500 (you can barely get a rusty 1980s pickup truck for that around here ).
I used to have a '95 Jeep Wrangler and I miss having a true off road vehicle as I occasionally need one (I'm a photographer and I go ghost- town hunting on the weekends, so I'm often out in the bush).
I like the comfort and cargo utility of the LR, but I admit I'm a little concerned about potential high repairs and maintenance costs over the Jeeps.
Any and all advice from other Land Rover owners, especially daily drivers, would be much appreciated!
Thank you!

Pictures from the ad:

Attached Thumbnails Potential 1st time LR owner.-image-2270095777.jpg   Potential 1st time LR owner.-image-845386938.jpg   Potential 1st time LR owner.-image-1949745124.jpg  
Old 01-19-2014, 07:58 AM
Super Moderator
Received 83 Likes on 80 Posts

have a pre purchase inspection done.

Potential problems -

front oem drive shaft does not have grease fittings on the doubled end, and these dry out and snap, slamming a hole in the tranny. Upgrade shaft now and grease every oil change.

weak oil pump (have mechanic check with pressure gauge, or add one).

overheating - factory gauge is unreliable - plug in an OBDII scanner, a good cheap one is the ULtra Gauge, see coolant temp. Refit with 180F Rover thermostat. Radiator too skinny for effective flush and rod out, replace. Do not use Dexcool coolant.