Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic.

Am I one of the few voices of sanity and reason in this place?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2012 | 12:39 PM
|
TReK
Default Am I one of the few voices of sanity and reason in this place?

As a technician I am subject to a lot of the rules most DIYer disobey. So I have always have to be cautious and use logic first over any other reasoning.

I see the results of non maintenance and just plain bad parts. I see it on all cars regardless of manufacturer.

But sometimes I see a lot of issues caused by DIYer themselves and not the vehicle. They get in the long conversations about problems that could and could not be and how much is too much and should I do this or not.

But here is the ways I see most DIYers shoot themselves in the foot.
1. Diagnosis, listen if you don't like us throwing parts at your cars and then charging you then why the hell do you do it to yourselves? Case in point, LR3 Air suspension lights, they come on all the time and only a few have actually purchased the diagnostic equipment to diagnose their problems. Most just start with some height sensor and a compressor. And then be moan how expensive an LR3 is to run. Reality is, they are too scared or too cheap to go to a dealer or independant to get diagnosis. Heaven forbid they want to spend six hundred bucks on a hawkeye. That sounds expensive to most cause their ten dollar autozone one never fails, except its not a CEL light.

2. Bulletins, bulletins are not diagnosis and they are not the cure all. But they can help you in the right direction and lead you to a fix. Most have no idea about bulletins but at the same time in the world of pirates no one wants to pay the money for a subscription to any manufacturer or alldata for bulletins.