Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

New To Land Rovers and could use some advise

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2012, 07:59 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 142 Likes on 113 Posts
Default New To Land Rovers and could use some advise

Hey Guys. New to the site and am new to Land Rovers for the most part. I am a mechanic by trade and have done some routine maintanence on these before but nothing major.

Here is my issue. I have a chance to purchase a ridiculously cheap 99 Discovery I. it has 123k miles. Paint is mint. Interior is in great shape. Its a one owner dealer serviced truck that has probably never seen more than a dirt road.

But... The previous owner was told it has some sort of "engine" problem that would be expensive to fix the owner just parked it in his garage several years ago. thats where it has sat untouched until i came around.

I havent demised what exactly is the problem but I am preparing for the worst. New engine. I looked through his previous dealership receipts and discovered he did some major work to ABS /brakes and steering system. Then in 2002 he had the whole top end rebuilt. That rebuild only has about 20k miles on it. It may be only head gaskets or minor issues but I'm not sure yet. As cheap as I'm getting this i could sell it for parts and make money but Id rather bring it back to life.

I have looked on line and read revues on this truck and am a little worried to put the money into it. Ive read a lot of horror stories on the transmission/transfer case and general reliability problems. Ive found that a lot of people hate it while others love it.

My question is this: Can i make this into a reliable trustworthy vehicle? I have owned nothing but older cars and trucks for years. Im no stranger to maintenance and breakdowns. I just don't want to be fighting a losing battle here. Ive owned primarily American trucks in the past for their brutal simplicity. International scouts, Suburbans, K5 Blazers, broncos, etc.