Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

411 on engine/transmission swap

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2016, 11:42 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 245 Likes on 230 Posts
Default 411 on engine/transmission swap

I am going to swap my engine this weekend (unless it rains, again). This is the 4.0 to 4.6 swap, again. I have a really nice zf4hp24 sitting in my garage that came with the 4.6, and a zf4hp22 in the rover. I will probably just swap the engine, again, but as I was driving this morning I remembered the phrase "do the whole tuna" used by another forum member (I can't find it now).

I have a crane, stands, transmission jack, tools, etc. I am not a mechanic, but I am becoming one and can swap a Disco II engine much faster than book labor, and have done so an embarrassing number of times. I removed the transmission from the [driveable, well kept] parts rover, but that is the sum total of my transmission removal experience.

I have a RAVE. But I am looking for a macro "do it" or "don't do it" and "this is generally how you do it" commentary on removing and replacing the whole tuna. I want to keep my transfer case because the parts rover is not lockable as is.

And bonus question: I don't see a breather hose on top of my hp24, so I guess I ruined that; how to fix?

One factor is that my crane has to be at full extension to clear the ARB bumper (and still scratches up my license plate) and it SAYS that it can only hold 500 pounds at max extension. I've never tried using it from the side, but I also have obnoxious tires and wheel spacers so that might not work; unknown.

Thanks!

Charlie V

Old 04-13-2016, 11:57 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 46 Likes on 45 Posts

Originally Posted by Charlie_V