Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

D2 Winch Bumper & Lift

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2015, 03:32 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default D2 Winch Bumper & Lift

Guys,

I've been searching and reading and I'm not really landing on the answer. Apologies if I'm missing something obvious. I'm new to D2's and LR's. A fresh conversion from the Jeep world. I'm looking to add a winch bumper and winch. Assuming I need a HD lift to handle the weight. I'm thinking 2-3" to keep in simple. I already have 245/75/16 Duratracs mounted. Besides shocks and coils. What else do I need to complete the lift?

Old 09-23-2015, 05:02 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I can keep it simple and start with a slow answer to at least one question. Most recommended that the most you can or want to go on the lift without getting into quite a bit more money is a 2" inch lift [Changes prop shaft angle I believe] . I'm not saying it hasn't been done before but, I believe that to be general conventional wisdom.
The other guys will have to help you out on the specifics of conversion kits...mine is an old D1 and I have made or converted all my parts for modification..not from skill..just cheap and a little crazy....

Good luck and post pics as you go. Maybe someday I will be able to afford one of those new fangled D2"s and will learn from your conversion...

Tex

Old 09-23-2015, 08:35 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Terrafirma +2" mediums is what I would recommend. You also might want to think about extended brake hoses as well. Stainless is the way to go. Easy to do the lift with basic tools and can be done in the garage, just make sure you have a 13mm ratchet wrench to take the front dampers off that are in side the coil spring. There are pleanty of videos on You Tube regarding this.