Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Disco II Front Driveshaft re-build > re-think

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 02:52 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disco II Front Driveshaft re-build > re-think

Ok, first I need to say that you guys are all awesome. I would not nor could nor afford to keep a Land Rover roving with out this forum! I have redone my head gaskets, transmission filter, and every other thing in-between and I am NOT a mechanic. Since the head gasket worked so good, 15K so far! I thought I would try new u joints in the front drive shaft...everybody said it was easy...

I wanted to go wheelin on Saturday and found the clicking to the worn transfer side u joints, so lets try this. 3 Precision 344 from Napa with the grease zerks. Start taking it apart until...did not know there was a gimble (?) bearing between the 2 u joints. It pops, rods flyin, kids screaming it was crazy...I could not find them all. (There is alot of talk about the u joints, grease zerks and ease...not much about look out when taking apart...ah probably user error anyways.)

Now for the bad part and dumb part...how important is that middle bearing? If a desperate person put 3 new u joints in without nothing but grease in the middle gimble (?) bearing, how dumb would they be?
Probably get a vibration under load and low speed?

Can I stay in denial and say that the vibration is just going to work itself out? Or since all (3) grease zerks are on the same side = vibration?

And if I have to succumb this to experience...will the vibration wear out the transfer case or front diff if I drive it? Can i take off the front driveshaft and lock the transfer case for long periods of time?

Thanks
James

Old 10-25-2010, 03:09 PM
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts