Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Disco II is kicking my butt

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2013, 01:07 AM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Disco II is kicking my butt

I bought a 2001 Disco II for my 17 year old daughter and she loves it, but it has been kicking my butt trying to figure it out. It began starving for fuel and it got to the point were you could not get it to go over 10 MPH. We replaced the Fuel pump, with no improvements.
So we then replaced the ECU and BCU and Rover came back to life she drove it for less than a week and it is going back to running the way it was before we changed the Ecu.
I am a shade tree mechanic at best so I got a disabled mechanic to work on it and he is the one that came up with the ecu.
So if any one has any suggestions I am game for any help I can get.
Thanks for help on "SAVING KELSEY'S ROVER"

Old 08-17-2013, 06:04 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 99 Likes on 92 Posts

Any codes? Have you checked fuel pressure, were the ecu and bcu programmed, do you have spark, how many miles? Answer all the above.

Old 08-17-2013, 06:15 AM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts

Waiting to hear the answers to the last reply.
By the way, how many miles on it?

Old 08-17-2013, 08:43 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Let us think about some points:

Pressing gas pedal should move throttle butter fly plate.

ECU uses a number of sensors to take that condition (% open of throttle) and consider other things like fuel temperature, mass of air flow into engine, incoming air temp, and fuel temp. It does the math, and decides how long to squirt fuel from the injectors. In some conditions it goes to "limp home mode."