Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Swap Discovery 2

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2009, 01:29 AM
Drifting
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Engine Swap Discovery 2

Bio

hello guys i am new to this forum but not new to forums i am a admin on a scuba diving site and a mod on a fishing site on the automotive side of forums i have been a active member of Honda-tech for 7 years and have created many meets and get togethers.. i have been a mechanic for 10 years mainly for Toyota/Honda cars and trucks i have owned many cars in my time but the Discovery i bought is my first landrover my plans with it is to tow my boat while my tundra is in the body shop and to take it off road for light to moderate trails. so far i have learned alot about the qwirks our LR's have and cant wait to start

last weekend i pulled the trigger on a 2000 Discovery that had a broken cam and busted connecting rod i got a fair deal on it and picked up the engine for a fair price .. but my car has SAI and the new engine doesent .. so my plan is to pull the heads off the old engine rebuild them and install it on the new block.. things also on the list to be replaced are water pump, thermostat, all hoses, spark plug wires,spark plugs drive belt, front and rear crank seals, complete head set, head bolts, toyota OEM red coolant, motor mounts, oil pan gasket is there anything i am not thinking of ? i have read of oil pump problems on the newer discoverys so should i change the oil pump? the only reason i didnt is the price of the part

i already purchaced the gear oil for the diffs and transfer case ujoints for the front and trans filter kit to be done once the rover is running again

the progress...