Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How does the 4wheeland drive Work

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2013, 09:20 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How does the 4wheeland drive Work

I am new to the discovery 2 never had a rover but always wanted one. I have a 03 disco 2 hiw does the 4 wheel drive work. Is it always locked. And my abs light is on.

Old 04-15-2013, 09:28 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

It is a full time 4x4, power is sent to both the front and rear axles at the same time via a center differential.
The transfer case shifter must be in either hi or lo or the truck will not move under its own power.
Shift the transfer case shifter into neutral and even with the transmission in park the truck will roll away.

Old 04-16-2013, 06:19 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

your truck is always in 4wheel high unless you shift it into 4 wheel low. you abs could be anyone of a couple dozen things, is just the abs light on?

Old 04-16-2013, 06:19 AM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts

As for the ABS light being on, until you fix the ABS issue, your traction control, Hill Decent and ABS will not work.
How many miles on the truck?
You might want to look at my major service list posted at the top of this section and do it all, especially the front drive shaft rebuild or replacement before it fails and takes the tranny with it.

Old 04-16-2013, 01:36 PM
Overlanding

Sorry not abs light but brake light. So it has a differental in between if my back tires spin will all my power go to the back tire

Old 04-16-2013, 01:40 PM
Overlanding

And millage is about 125,000. So for we love it. It has a oil leak and water leak. And i am getting a code that the cats are bad.

Old 04-16-2013, 04:03 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 25 Likes on 16 Posts
Default You never got your question answered!