Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking at a 2000 need opinions

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2011, 12:21 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking at a 2000 need opinions

I am looking at buying a used Disco and this is the current one I am interested in. I plan on driving it this weekend and would like some input. I have read the what to look for thread also.

This is what the owner told me:

This is a 2000 Land Rover Discovery II 4x4
runs and drives great,
motor and trans were totally redone by a dealer cost over 8k , I have reciets and warrantys for them
new driveshafts
new brakes and rotors all around
vehicle needs nothing at all.

He told me the warranty on the engine/trans is one year from rover and all is stock. The brakes are lifetime. Driveshaft was 90 days and has expired.

What should I look for? Im new to the rover world but not to off road vehicles so be gentle.

I would eventually like it to be my daily driver but have a backup for now to get the bugs worked out. I do most of my own work but will be finding a reliable mechanic for help.

Thanks for any help

Punchy

Forgot to add that he wants $6500 but I will not buy if he wont come down quite a bit in price.

Last edited by Punchy; 10-06-2011 at 12:44 PM. Reason: left off the price
Old 10-06-2011, 12:32 PM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Here's a reply to a similar question - in your case seems like motor issues are taken care of, but review these posts for checklist ideas

Other post In response to a $3800 D1:

see this recent post: what to check on a used 97 with lots of miles?

go to our Discovery 1 section, tech area, and you'll find write up on things to look for, and what is different from D1 to D2.

You can use www.statewidelist.com to search all of craigslist in your state for"rover" and your price range, and the output is grouped by city. Helps you know what people are charging.