Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mods to do while engine is out?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2016, 06:06 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mods to do while engine is out?

Hello,

I am in the middle of an engine overhaul on a 1999 D2 and want to really do it right and just once. I am not new to engine rebuilds, however I am new to Land Rover.

What mods should I do while the engine is out? I am looking for advice like what unnecessary parts to remove, what to bypass, what to smooth out with a dremel etc.

What I am doing/ have purchased already:

Top Hat Liners, refurbished heads, new crank and rod bearings (4.0 liter), all new gaskets, new oil pump gears, timing gear and chain kit, water pump, camshaft (4.0 Liter), lifters, cam bearings, thermostat, and input shaft seal on trans(just because its easy now).

Big thanks in advance!

Old 03-22-2016, 08:49 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 943 Likes on 634 Posts

Hope you went with an aftermarket cam, or at least a stock 4.6 cam. I also always recommend a good port and polish on the heads and intake manifold, really wakes it up. I'm a fan of my headers too, but that requires replacing the whole exhaust system and making a better intake like what I've done to see any gains from the headers.

Old 03-22-2016, 11:37 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 46 Likes on 45 Posts

Add an oil pressure sensor on the spare port on the timing cover. Not a bad idea for these motors and on your '99, that is the only place it can be done because it has an oil cooler that takes up the other two ports. Also, this is really only possible to do with the fan, belt, and pulleys out of the way so you have a great opportunity now. Just did it on my '04.

Not really a mod, but not a bad idea either: change out your water pump with a brass impeller unit.

Old 03-23-2016, 10:15 PM
Overlanding

Originally Posted by Alex_M