Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

potential 02 disco 2 overheats

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2015, 05:43 AM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default potential 02 disco 2 overheats

hey guys! i am brand new to rovers.

i am looking at buying a 2002 disco with 126k

its idles very well. revs nicely no obvious egnine issues. oil looks good no cheese on the dipstick or filler cap.

has 2 codes. one for an o2 sensor and one for the traction control.
ther front windows dont roll down.
now for the real issue. the owner said he had a radiator leak and had a mechanic put in a new rad. it was a local guy not a land rover mechanic. after the rad was replaced the truck started getting hot. the owner said it never let it overheat. he took it back to the same mechanic who replaced the water pump. same symptoms persist.

my inspection:
after about 20m of idling is starts to get got. the top radiator houses get very hot and the overflow starts spurting water-steam out of the cap on the overflow tank. however the bottom hose is cold and cold water starts runnimg down the right hand side of the onto the ground. i couldnt see exactly where the cold water was coming from because the frame was in the way.

my thoughts:

thermostat
air in the system
fault new rad
bad head gasket
bock cracked

i am new to these rigs. what are your thoughts on the overhesting issue.

sorry for how this was written. i am on my mobile phone.

thanks,
barr

Old 08-12-2015, 06:11 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

test your coolant for CO2 you can get a kit at your local auto parts store, also have them check you recovery tank cap, or simply replace it for $20.00

Last edited by drowssap; 08-12-2015 at 06:21 AM.
Old 08-12-2015, 06:17 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 107 Likes on 81 Posts

Welcome !
From your explanation, I would venture to say the coolant is not flowing trough the radiator.