Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacing the Intake Manifold Gasket - Advice welcome!

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2013, 04:26 AM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing the Intake Manifold Gasket - Advice welcome!

Hello everyone!

As the title says, I need to replace the intake manifold gasket on my 2003 Discovery 2 SE. The vehicle has 94K miles and the whole engine was replaced at 62K from the faulty Oil Pump issue. Though I haven’t ever ventured too deep into my disco’s engine, I have some experience with other vehicles and will have some help during the process. I figure I can save quite a bit by doing it myself since the mechanic wanted close to 2 grand for the job. Also, since I’ll have everything apart I’m going to replace my wires and plugs.

I’ve gone through these forums and have found some basic info and I wanted to make sure
I’ve got a good parts list. I’m going to get:

1. Bosch Intake Gasket Kit Land Rover Discovery II & Range Rover (P38) Intake Gasket Kit - Land Rover Intake Gasket Parts

2. I saw on another forum that it is recommend to get the 8mm Magnecor wires (Ignition Wire Set - Magnecor Performance Electrosports Wires - 8MM (RTC6551MAG28MM Same Fit As Part # 80196) - Land Rover ignition from Atlantic British). However, it’s listed as not fitting the 03 Disco II and needing some custom work. What exactly has to be done in order for them to fit? Is it really worth it or should I just go with the normal 7mm?

3. Bosch Spark Plugs Land Rover Spark Plug (Same Fit As Genuine Part # NLP100320) - Land Rover Spark Plugs

Is there anything else I should get to do the job?

Also, is there anything else that is relatively inexpensive you guys would recommend that I replace while I have things taken apart?

Does anyone have any tips or advice for this job?

Thanks!

Old 04-01-2013, 07:35 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts