Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Royal Purple Synthetics

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2016, 07:56 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Royal Purple Synthetics

I have been on here a while, I have learned so much from you guys. So thanks for that. Background on me before my questions. I am ASE Chevy mechanic (Certified in 1992). Meaning I have forgotten alot or technology has outrun my certification. I have racing roots as well, from wheeling a Sprint Car and Stock Car to "crew chiefing" a successful USRA Stock car. I used Royal Purple in all of my daily drivers and even my "SCCA Club" cars. So that brings me to my questions. I am new to Land Rover, I just recently bough a D2 and an LR3 and about to add a D1 soon. I changed the oil in the D2 to Rotella 15w40 and man it made a world of difference, no more chatter or clatter other than sounds like a rattling pulley (NOT bad, just annoying for a perfectionist that likes ZERO rattle). I am about to walk my kid through a tranny filter/fluid change, diff oil change, transfer case oil change and driveshaft service. Has anybody here used Royal Purple fluids/oils in a D2? If so, how is it working for you? RP was OUTSTANDING in my former cars and once converted the oils stayed cleaned and everything ran baby's a$$ smooth.
RECOMMENDATIONS FROM the RESIDENT EXPERTS??

This is my kids truck and he will be the one wrenching on it, so I want to get him in the habit of using the best stuff to keep "Rowdy" (as he calls it) rolling for a long time.

The kiddo replacing Exhaust manifold gaskets

The kiddo replacing Exhaust manifold gaskets

Old 04-15-2016, 08:09 AM
Winching
Received 23 Likes on 22 Posts

Very nice! Seems like quite a few here working on their D2's with sons (me included)
I'm curious, how was replacing the gaskets? I have to replace the one between each cat the manifold pipe and I am terrified I am going to snap one of the two studs on each side.