Freelander Talk about the Land Rover Freelander within.

transmission issue? please no....

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2008, 01:24 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default transmission issue? please no....

I am able to start my car fine but my car want shift at all. Last night my husband noticed the shifting issue when we were coming home. This morning I go to leave and I can barely move my car. I finally am able to move, reverse just fine. Then right down the street my car won't shift at all. Is this a transmission issue. I so hope not because it is not under warranty...help!!!!!

Calirover

Old 09-22-2008, 06:43 PM
Drifting
Default RE: transmission issue? please no....

Do you own a scanning tool? I'm no expert on automatic transmissions but this sounds to me like a computer issue. Have a scan done to see if the transmission control unit is working properly. They're not overly expensive to replace and they're a lot cheaper that the transmission itself. Wishing you luck,

Chris

Old 09-23-2008, 12:53 AM
Winching
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Check your fluid. Could be low fluid causing all those problems. But then again, once you fix the fluid...you still gotta figure out why you lost it all..

So are you saying that it takes a long time to shift into gear? When you went to leave and shift into R...did it take a while to finally go, or was it just freewheeling alot and it just took alot of gas to get it moving?

Old 09-23-2008, 09:02 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

it would be easy to check the fluid if there was a dip stick
its not easy for the average person to check the level on a jatco transmission
is the check engine light on yet?

Old 09-23-2008, 02:13 PM
2nd Gear