General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Range Rover Battery Drain Over Night

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2014, 08:17 AM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Range Rover Battery Drain Over Night

Hello,

I'm new here and new to Land Rover. I recently acquired a 2000 Range Rover 4.0 LSE.

The problem I'm currently having is battery drain over the course of the night. Since I'm new to Land Rover, I'm hoping someone could point me in the direction of things I might look for that might cause this battery drain.

Edit: I installed a brand new battery yesterday. It's stilling going dead over night.

Also, when running and the lights are on, they seem bright and normal so I'm pretty sure it's nothing to do with the alternator. Or is it?

One more note: (I'll keep adding as I discover) I ran a test by removing the negative battery connection and placing a tester between the post and connector and the tester light stays on. I systematically removed each fuse in the fuse box while the light was on and none of the fuses pulled stopped the mysterious load.

Last edited by Denny Smith; 02-10-2014 at 06:24 AM.
Old 02-10-2014, 05:18 PM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

well the first thing you will want to do is get a full charge in that new battery then take it to one of the chain store places and have your charging system check. unlike american cars LR's require at least 13.6 vt to charge. does your p-38 still have bags in it? if so it could be a compressor problem? you may want to unplug it.

Old 02-10-2014, 06:19 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts