LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How I replaced Transmission cooler pipes

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2018, 10:38 PM
Drifting
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default How I replaced Transmission cooler pipes

LR3 Transmission Cooler Pipe Replacement (2005 LR3 HSE)

Sharing my experience as this was not in the service manual, and I couldn't find any write ups. I'm not a mechanic, this is just how I did it. My cooler lines were badly rusted and had weeping pinholes. I managed to replace them without removing the driveshaft or other major components. It took a lot of patience, constantly crawling back and forth from the transmission, to the wheelwell by the engine mount, to the inner arch lower side shield. Here's what I did...

Prep
1. Have a container ready to catch about half a litre oil.
2. Take pictures to make reassembly easier.
3. The connections were:
Two hose clamps at the radiator
10mm bolt holding a plate ("clamp") at the gearbox
8mm nut holding a plastic bracket to the upper sump behind the p/s pump
Two plastic clamps holding the pipes together: one on the sump bracket, one near the tranny above the cat.
4. The major choke points for sliding the pipes were:
The driveshaft and catalytic converter, the breather nipple on top of the differential, the steering input shaft, the power steering pump, valve and lines

Drain
1. Jack up the drivers side (NA) and little or no oil will leak out (ty Pete K).
2. Disconnect the top pipe at the radiator and let it drain down into the tranny for at least an hour or even overnight.

Disconnect
1. Remove the large skid plate and the front inner arch lower side shield.
2. Remove the two plastic clamps holding the pipes together. The clamps have a cap that keeps the pipes in place. Pry off the cap, then free the pipes (took some hard pulling). *It may be easier if the top pipe is left in while removing the lower pipe