Radio Swap - Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.

Radio Swap

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 04-10-2018, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 571
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default Radio Swap

Will a radio from a SE work in a HSE?
Thanx...
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2018, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I don't think the actual head units are different in the SE/HSE besides the addition to the screen, but the amp is different. (more speakers)
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to memphis_rover For This Useful Post:
EastCoast (04-12-2018)
  #3  
Old 04-11-2018, 07:14 PM
ArmyRover's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 5,842
Thanked 414 Times in 383 Posts
Default

yup shouldn't be an issue at all. I have done HSE to SE with no problems
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ArmyRover For This Useful Post:
EastCoast (04-12-2018)
  #4  
Old 04-12-2018, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 571
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Thanx to you both... my radio reception is crap to put it kindly so I'm looking at buying a salvaged head unit and popping it in. Just didn't want to waste my time on an incompatible unit.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2018, 12:20 AM
Geo
Geo is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 192
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Maybe your radio antenna amplifier is dead (fuse?)...
Found one on eBay for $10
Search for XUC000262A
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2018, 05:23 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 571
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Geo View Post
Maybe your radio antenna amplifier is dead (fuse?)...
Found one on eBay for $10
Search for XUC000262A
Checked fuse... good.
I've got a question though... where is that antenna amplifier located?
Thanx...
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2018, 08:31 PM
Geo
Geo is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 192
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

That’s a good question. Usually they are in a pillars, but I have my covers off and don’t see them. I also have the dash apart and haven’t run across it yet. I’ll take a closer look. Might be around the central junction/body control module.
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2018, 10:38 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 571
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Thanx Geo... could it be under the headliner underneath where the antenna is? I hope not as I don't want to drop my headliner if I don't have to. (more of a "never done that before" than a difficulty rating)
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-16-2018, 06:57 PM
Geo
Geo is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 192
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

I followed the antenna cable down the left side if the dash/console and then over towards the passenger side behind the shifter. Not sure where it was going!
Passenger side B pillar maybe?
 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-16-2018, 10:46 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 571
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I removed the rear cover at the rear of the headliner and there is nothing up there. I may try and contact one of the salvah=ge yards that has these for sale to ask where they took it from.
 
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Glen11
General Tech Help
3
04-16-2014 06:40 AM
etsZac
Discovery II
6
12-13-2013 07:32 PM
bennyb43
Discovery II
3
12-11-2013 08:17 AM
southfloridadiscoII
Discovery II
22
06-28-2009 11:03 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory