New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

New Potential Disco I/II Owner

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2011, 06:50 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Potential Disco I/II Owner

Hello Everyone,

My name is Will and I'm currently in the market for a Land Rover (Disco I or II). Been lurking on the forums for a few days and decided to make it official by signing up!

A little about myself: As long-time BMW guy, I'm certainly no stranger to older cars nickle-&-dime'ing their owners to death! I'm an aircraft mechanic by trade, currently working in corporate aviation (Jets & Helos), so I'm no stranger to a wrench, either. Hopefully, my background in both will serve me well with these vehicles!

I've already downloaded the RAVE manual and been paging through it casually. Looking forward to picking up a cheap(er), capable and relatively dependable Disco to replace my M3 for winter driving!

Cheers,
Will

Old 12-21-2011, 07:28 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Welcome

Well, welcome! If you've been perusing the forums, you've noticed that there is a great deal of passion for these trucks. I'm a relative neophyte - owned for about 9 months what I consider to be a low maintenance 2001 Disco 2. That being said, my total costs to date, including vehicle, is somewhere in the $8000 range. Truck was $5500. Being a handy mechanic, as you indicate, might save preventive maintenance costs appreciably. Depending upon individual vehicle and your abilities, you can probably do better.

Continue your research, wait for the right example to come along, stay plugged into the forums, and keep your mechanic skills polished!

Best of luck!

Old 12-21-2011, 07:46 PM
6th Gear