New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

Rover Owner in the Making

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2014, 03:32 AM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rover Owner in the Making

Hey guys! My name is Ben I'm a student at the California Maritime Academy and I'm on the verge of buying my first land rover (within the next week or two).

I came here to preemptively start gaining knowledge in addition to seeing what others think of the car I've found.

It's a 1996 Discovery I 4.0L auto. It has 141,000 miles on it (more road than off). It has all the off road suspension goodies by Old Man Emu as well as after market compressor/lights/bumpers/winch/tow package. Asking price is 4800 dollars. I will mostly be using it for sporadic errands and camping/escaping on the weekends.

I have already test driven it and everything sounds fine to my somewhat untrained ear. I looked under the truck at the frame and found it to be straight and particularly rust free. I'm thinking about going back this week to have it inspected by a mechanic just to be sure.

Anyways, I love reading all the posts on here and seeing what other people are doing to their trucks. The discovery caught my eye a while ago and I've been in love ever since. I look forward to interacting with everyone in the future!

Old 01-23-2014, 06:22 PM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Inspection good idea. Funding on college budget may involve some DIY work, download the factory manual set called the RAVE. Simple to work on and I am a off-duty village idiot and I can do it, so most people can.

Old 01-23-2014, 06:32 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

I wouldve loved one of these in college.

However...

If you arent gonna work on it yourself, you better have a nice chunk of extra cash to pay for maintenance/repairs that will inevitably come up.