Range Rover L405 (Fourth Gen) Talk about the Land Rover Range Rover 405 within.

Overheated engine on 2015 RR - quoted $26k to replace

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2023, 08:57 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Overheated engine on 2015 RR - quoted $26k to replace

newbie here on the forum but not necessarily to Range Rovers (had P38 before)

bought a 2015 L405 3.0 for wife a year or so ago - she absolutely loved the car until last week when a low coolant warning came on but she was stuck on freeway and car overheated and shut down in traffic on the freeway.
Towed to an independent LR shop and he said a coolant pipe to the expansion tank ruptured, they put it back together but now when running it pressurizes the coolant tank so head gasket is leaking and his final diagnosis is that the car needs a new engine.

He checked with Rover in the UK and they have a rebuild 3.0l engine available mid of next month for about $21k plus about $5k labor to put it in.
So now what to do - car has 80k mls - has been meticulously serviced at dealer with previous owner and is in beautiful shape. I would estimate it was maybe a low $40k car before the engine melt down. It seems to make little sense to invest $25-30k into a 9yr old RR. But how to sell a project with dead engine?

Used RR engines don't seem plentiful and still cost $10-15k
Is there a market for 9 yr old RR with a dead engine? I am reading about all the overheating issues on the forums - wish I had paid closer attention. I work on all of my cars myself but since this is the wife's car and was dealer maintained I did not worry much about it other than changing oil and fixing smaller electrical issues.
Any word of advice ? best way to sell this as-is? it's a beautiful car - hate to have someone buy if for nothing and part it out
thanks

Old 11-16-2023, 05:09 AM
Mudding
Received 87 Likes on 54 Posts