General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Rear Brakes and Suspension 2001 DiscoII

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2009, 08:36 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Brakes and Suspension 2001 DiscoII

Rear brakes had been making awful noise. Especially right side. I ordered mid grade rotors/pads from Atlantic British for $409.

I have never done breaks before, but project seemed straight forward enough. 5 lugs, 4 bolts, 1 screw...

As I got into it, the rust/corrosion made some nuts/bolts a real challenge. 2 of the lugs seem to have deformed and they are tough to work with.

Finally got caliper off and piston was frozen. Wouldnt budge. Not no how. Ordered new rear calipers. Arrived next day. The outside pad on right side was down to metal. All other 3 pads well worn and in need of changing, but still intact.

In the meantime, my arnotte air suspension bags arrived with no retention clips. Installed them. Right rear didnt lock into place at bottom, but I lined up the little nubbies on top. The left side bag installed and locked firmly on bottom. Had to order new retention clips at rather crazy price plus crazy price to over night them. I had called local parts store and they said they didnt have them. The next day I was in VIP and they had a whole rack of retaining clips. My guess is one of theirs would have worked for about 2.50 for 4. I ended up paying 15$ for those stupid clips. Stealership wanted $8 each!

So the next day I have both suspension bags in with clips. I did not use new nut/compression fittings. I just screwed in old air hose. Is that ok? Right rear new caliper, rotor, pads installed.