LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stumble on acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2018, 08:05 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 245 Likes on 230 Posts
Default Stumble on acceleration

Hi there, LR3 people! I got my wife an LR3 and she loves it. But we are having a little issue and I'd like to draw on the collective knowledge here for some advice.

Salients: 2008 LR3 with 4.4 engine, 98k, PO kept for weekend driving. Service done at LR Dallas. We have put about 200 miles on it in the last few weeks. Aside from changing oil and air filter, and re connecting the windshield wiper hose to the reservoir, zero maintenance by us. Outside temp about 76 degrees. Typical east Texas humidity. I usually drive a diesel so I am a pokey driver--no hot rodding.

Problem: wife told me it was losing power and she was afraid to drive across an intersection. I drove it and it had no problems, so I thought she might have been "mistaken," but it happened to me on the way to Sam's Wholesale to get some cat food and it was very unmistakable. Starting from a stop, the engine noticeably bogged and even slowed despite putting the pedal into it; then it took off with a surge of power. Throughout the gears (up to about 60mph) I felt a hesitation. Next intersection, same issue.

The temporary fix: I pulled into a gas station to consider my options and filled it up (it had a quarter tank when I stopped) and the engine ran smoothly and powerful the rest of the way home. Total stop time was about 5 minutes. It reminded me of the time my wife arrived home, turned off the truck, ran inside and told me to drive it because it was having the problem. I jumped in and it had no problems.

No engine light. No pending codes. I did not have realtime temperature monitoring but the idiot guage never moved.